License & Permit Bonds

California Notary Public Bonds

07/02/2019

To become a notary public in the state of California, there are a few requirements you need to meet. First, you have to be 18 years of age or older. Second, you must be a legal California resident. You then have to complete a course of study approved by the California Secretary of State, followed by passing a written examination provided by the California Secretary of State. The process also requires a background check after you pass the examination.

If you get past these steps, you then need to obtain a California notary public surety bond. A $15,000 surety bond is required by State of California statutes to become a notary public. Once the notary commission has been issued, a person has 30 calendar days from the beginning of the term to file the surety bond with their county clerk’s office.

So where can you instantly purchase a notary surety bond?

Colonial offers the direct and digital way to obtain a California notary bond. We are the insurance company — which means no agent, no broker, and no middleman. The steps are easy — get a quote online, fill out your information, and enter your payment method. It’s that simple!