License & Permit Bonds

Michigan Notary Public Bonds

07/12/2019

In order to become a notary public in the State of Michigan, you must obtain a $10,000 surety bond and file it with the clerk of the county in which you are seeking to be appointed.

In Michigan, a notary surety bond is required to protect the public from damages caused by the negligence or misconduct of the appointed notary public.

Notaries in Michigan are required to also be a minimum of 18 years of age, be a Michigan resident or have a place of business in Michigan, be a U.S. citizen or have valid proof of legal presence, be a resident of the county in which you seek appointment or maintain a principal place of business in the county in which you seek to be appointed within, be able to read and write in the English language, and not be currently serving a term of imprisonment. Applicants must not have been convicted of a felony within the last ten years or two or more misdemeanor offenses in violation of the Michigan Notary Public Act within 12 months while commissioned. Three or more misdemeanor violations of the act while commissioned over a five-year period are also disqualifying. You must also sign a declaration stating that all information on your application is correct, that you have read the Michigan Notary Public Act, and that you will perform all notary acts faithfully.

Where can you purchase an instant Michigan notary surety bond?

Colonial offers the direct and digital way to obtain a Michigan notary bond. We are the insurance company — which means no agent, no broker, and no middleman and are licensed in all 50 states. The steps are easy — get a quote online, fill out your information, and enter your payment method. Your bond will be ready for print instantly. It’s that simple!